Raisin Cookies and Holiness

The only thing that is keeping me going is the fact that there are two and a half oatmeal raisin cookies in my car, waiting for me once I get off of work. I don’t even like oatmeal raisin cookies, but at least it is something to look forward to. (Moreover, the only form I will eat raisins are if they are inside of a cookie.)

Last night at small groups, we looked at Acts 17. I love the way we have small groups. It turned into this discussion that did not really have much to do with Acts 17. It was spurred on by being Christian in high school, where that it not really the norm. Shelley challenged them (as well as me): “What if you lived in a way where you would not have to tell people you are Christian—in a way that they would all know just by watching you live?”

I think that is holy living. If you were to live in such a way that people just knew you were a Christian, maybe not necessarily even knowing the label “Christian,” but knowing that there was something different about you. I think it goes deeper than just seeing that you don’t drink, don’t smoke, and don’t have sex. Granted just not doing those things will get people to notice and ask why, but it is more than what you don’t do. Holiness isn’t long skirts and Drug-Free stickers. Leviticus 10:10 (ESV) says: “You are to distinguish between the holy and the common, and between the unclean and the clean.”

So what does holiness look like?

Well, I am still learning that.

But I do know that holiness starts with God because God is holy. We must start with looking toward God and attempting to reflect God because God is holy.

Leave a Reply

