Home

I love being home. There is just something about home that is comforting and warm (even though we don’t always turn the furnace up). There is something so great about knowing that I can wake up and sit with my mom, and we can drink coffee together as she reads the newspaper and makes comments about various things. I love being able to sit around the living room with my mom and brother as we watch TV or a movie or play Clue (out of three games, we each won one). I even am glad that I can just read in the bathroom without judgment (it is not like I take a long time, but I like to multitask). I love being able to turn my electric blanket on and snuggle into my warm bed. There is just something great about coming home and being home. There is just something about being able to sit and know, “I am glad to be home. This is home.”

I mean, we will overlook the fact that I am working a lot despite it being my “break.” I think that breaks are just kind of a joke. I mean, I had one day off before I went to work since I have been home. I have been working ever since. I know, I don’t want to be a complainer about it. Sometimes, though, complaining is just the only language I know. Anyway, I have been learning a lot about taking time to rest and taking time to reward myself with rest. God has been teaching me things, despite the fact that I feel too busy all the time. I went to bed at 8:30 the other night because I was so tired. Which was probably a good thing because I had to wake up at 4:50 to be a work at 5:30. Am I complaining again? Well, I am sorry.

Last night I went to my youth pastor’s house and visited with him, his wife, her sister, their kids and another one of my friends that we grew up in youth group together. It was a good time of talking. Sometimes I feel like I have enclosed myself too tightly in the bubble of my world, and that doesn’t settle well with me. It is weird to hear about all the going-ons in my old high school right now. Sometimes it is weird to be back in my small hometown. Don’t get me wrong, it is great to be back. It is just different.

Leave a Reply

