Eleven Goals for Two Thousand Eleven

I do not believe in New Year’s resolutions. I do not like them. I believe that even calling them New Year’s resolutions, you do not expect to succeed. Why set yourself up for failure? I mean, there is a reason that we always planned our youth group Krispy Kreme fundraiser for February.

1. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful, or joyful. I want to simplify my life. I want to be careful how I spent my time. I believe that one way in which I can do that is asking: Is this useful? Is it beautiful? Is it joyful? I need to ask that before I buy something. I need to ask that when I find myself on Facebook for too long. Happiness in life is a lot about whether or not you choose to be happy. I believe that a long with that, it would be not filling my life with things that are not useful, beautiful, or joyful.

2. Live with the 3 E’s — Energy, Enthusiasm and Empathy. Basically, I want to have a zest for life.

3. Get an article published online. I do not really care where, probably at an online magazine. The only problem is, I have yet to really write said article. I want to write in a journal more as well, because I want to become a better writer. I know that the only way that anyone can become a better writer is to write, so that’s exactly what I want to do. I want to journal more, write articles, write more sermons.

4. Read more books than I did in 2010. This probably is not going to be that hard, because before 2010, I was not really much of a reader. However, especially throughout this last semester, I have become a reader. I enjoy reading books, mainly because I enjoy anything that spurs on new thoughts, deeper thoughts, and learning new/more information. Books give me that. I will probably never become much of a fiction-lover, but I do have a new hunger for books, especially books about theology or church/ministry. So, in addition to reading for all my classes, I would like to read one fun book a month.

5. Take time to pray and read my Bible daily. This is important, so I want to give this high importance. A relationship with Christ is not much of a relationship without spending time in prayer and time digging into the Word.

6. Keep my limits. Observe the Sabbath. 2010, as I have said, was really a year of breakdowns. In order to not have weekly breakdowns, I need to know my limits and then keep my limits. I need to not say yes to everything, because over-committing myself is not something that is healthy. I have become an achiever, but that does not mean that I need to kill myself while overdoing. I want to learn that the Sabbath is not just something that happens one day of the week, instead, I want to become a Sabbath person. I want to constantly find my rest in the Lord.

7. Run more. To be completely honest, this is probably going to be the hardest goal for me. I am not an athletic person. I mean, let’s be real. However, I want to be healthy. So, I would like to eat more green, but I would also like to run more. I do not have a problem with my weight, but I know that I am not healthy. I would like to walk/run more often.

8. Lighten up. I would like to laugh more. I would like to not take myself too seriously. After all, no one else does. Laughing is good for your health, so I would like to laugh more. I would like to find the little joys in life to laugh about. I know that not everything in life is something at which you can laugh, but I do believe that there is always something you can laugh about, even if it is something little. I love to laugh, so I would love to laugh more.

9. Travel more. Experience more. Besides driving back and forth between Kansas and North Dakota, I didn’t really do much more than work last year. Now this year granted I already know that I will be traveling more (I am going to Europe in May), but I want to experience more. I know that with life, working is important, but I do not want to get too busy making a living that I forget to make a life. Even though working at the nursing home has given me a lot of stories, I would like to look back on 2011/breaks in school and be able to say more than just, “All I did was work.”

10. No matter how I feel, get up, dress up and show up. There are times when I simply go to sleep early because I either don’t feel like going or because I am afraid of going some place by myself. However, I would like to step outside of my comfort zone and instead of avoiding situations, I would like to go, no matter how I feel. Sometimes I let fear keep me from really enjoying life and having new experiences.

11. Each morning that I wake up, I want to wake up thankful for the day. I know that the line “each day is a gift” is becoming too cliche, I believe that each day is something to be thankful for. I want to be more thankful for the people that are there for me. I want to be more appreciative for my family. I want to wake up, thank God for the day and start by entire day in a joyful mood.

Bring it on, 2011.

Leave a Reply

