Intentional

Community doesn’t build itself.

I throw around the word “intentional” like it is going out of style. However, I recognize that I have a lot to learn about what it really means to be intentional. I seem to forget that even as my role as RA, I am practicing ministry and pastoral care. Just because I am not serving in a church or with a church group when I am wearing my “RA hat,” it does not mean that I am not working toward building lifelong intentional relationships. I will admit, as I look back at the first semester, I think that I failed. Even as I was sitting in the RA meeting last night, I was thinking how nice it would be to just give up and finish this semester and never look back. But I realized it doesn’t work like that.

We all want to be pursued. We have this desire inside of us that longs for community, for connectedness amongst each other. Especially a group of twenty-four freshmen girls. Yet I was struggling. I am busy, but I never want the message I am sending them to be “I am too busy for you.” Community, true community, is not always convenient. But it is always a blessing when it picks you up when you need it to. Being in relationship with other people is going to be messy. It is going to be work—hard work. But I do believe it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

