Dirty Silverware

I am trying to tell myself that I only feel like crying because I am tired and drained and because I didn’t get enough sleep last night. Ah, who cares. Let’s be honest.

All of my dirty silverware fell behind my fridge. (I know, if I want to be thought of as a great future homemaker, I should not be this honest.) Now it is just sitting there, dirty and hidden by the fridge. It probably will start to smell. (Not that it will bother me, I have a terrible sense of smell.) I just don’t want to move the fridge to get them out.

And that’s kind of how my life has been.

I know that there is dirty silverware hiding somewhere behind the fridge of my life, and I don’t want to do anything about it. Soon it will start to smell. Unless, of course, I do something about it.

Yet, there is this voice that is saying: It is okay not to be okay. It is okay to be broken and messed up. It is okay to be dirty silverware. It is okay that you don’t like hiking. It is okay that you aren’t outgoing. It is okay that you are just…

you.

That’s okay.

Jesus says, “Come to me.” And Jesus says that to the people who don’t know how to ask questions and have awkward moments of silence and don’t know how to explain the books they like to read. Maybe that’s just me. But God is calling each and every one of us.

Us, being the broken. Us, being the joyful. Each and every one of us.

Come to me. He is ready to embrace the beauty in your brokenness.

Leave a Reply

