Fullness of Joy

“Stop checking your phone,” I tell myself. “No one is going to text you. Just get over it and get some reading done.” Yet, there is something within me that doesn’t want to walk away from my phone. There is a strong part of me that wishes if I could just stare at my phone long enough, the green light will flash, indicating that I have received a text message.

Sure, it doesn’t help that my roommate has just about the highest number of friends in the world, and so her phone is constantly blowing up. She gets text messages left and right. However, there is something about never being the one who gets text messages. (And I mean something more than just a legitimate reason to put my finger in the shape of an L on my forehead.)

For every moment that I am not receiving a text message, I am reminded that my worth will never be able to be found in anything other than God. I know, it is a little silly, but my mind keeps coming back to this truth: my joy must in found in the Lord.

Psalm 16:11 (ESV) says: “You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there isfullness of joy; at your right hand arepleasures forevermore.” (Emphasis added.)

In the presence of God, there is fullness of joy.

Sometimes I walk away from joy. While I was working at the nursing home over break, I could see that my attitude was not good. I realized that I was letting my job (and coworkers) steal my joy. My joy is not something for them to be able to steal, my joy should be unconditional. But sometimes I forget. Sometimes I need to be more like a moth that is drawn to the light.

Abba, Father, let me come into your presence because that is my true source of joy. I find that nothing else truly really satisfies. There is such joy that I can tap into because He has lavished me with His grace. I can find restoration in Him. In Him, I can rest. In Him, I can abide. In Him, I can find true joy.

Leave a Reply

