Surrounded by Love

I was talking to my mom on the phone this morning, and we were talking about Valentine’s Day. She told me that every year on Valentine’s Day, she cries. She followed by telling me that this year she decided that she was not going to cry. We then talked about how Valentine’s Day can be much more than just romantic love. That we can celebrate all love—friendship love, family love, roommate love, and so on.

I have had boyfriends before, but I don’t really think I have ever done anything for Valentine’s Day. I could get down about being alone, but why waste a great opportunity to celebrate love? After all, I have a God who loves more deeply than I could ever imagine or comprehend.

I remember last year on Valentine’s Day. (And, yes, I remember what I was wearing. My black tweed-like pants, a red shirt, and a black sweater.) It was on a Sunday last year, and it was snowing. After church, my RA’s family took me out to lunch at Applebee’s. Her family had kind of become my second family (and they often joked about how they would adopt me if they could). They bought me flowers and a card. It was really a great day, because I was surrounded by people who loved each other. And I think that’s really what Valentine’s Day should really be all about.

It should not be about how alone you may or may not be when it comes to having (or not having) a significant other. It should be about surrounding yourself with people who love and support one another. It should be about reminding yourself that there is nothing to be sad about when in the Lord, we can have this joy that is far greater.

God, You are the keeper of my heart. Because of that, I can go out and love others.

We love because he first loved us. -1 John 4:19

Leave a Reply

