Worry, Life, and Peace

This week is going to be one of those weeks. You know the ones. It is going to be one of those weeks where you just have to keep your head down until it is all over and your entire person kicks into survival mode. I keep looking at my planner, and I just see it taunting me like an elementary school bully on the playground.

This night has already been filled with some stress, but then, it hit me.

The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace. -Romans 8:6

Life and peace. I know, a radical comment. As I was sitting in my room about ready to freak out, my roommate brought me down to earth, “Why are you even freaking out right now?” My friend came over to the room and helped me with some questions I had about some ridiculous project I was working on. She reminded me that I always do this. I always freak out and what happens? It always gets done.

I feel like Jon Foreman says it well in his song, Your Love is Strong: “Why do I worry? Why do I freak out? God knows what I need.”

Granted, this week will be busy, but it will all get done. It will all be alright. I know it won’t necessarily be all gumdrops and lollipops, but I will survive. God knows what I need.

Leave a Reply

