You Make Me Happy

Sometimes I just sit in my cubicle and stare. It’s not like I even have a great view of anything—I’m not by any windows. I just stare, blankly into nothing, and think. (It is a good thing no one can see me when I do this because then they would realize when I am being unproductive.) I called my employer from back home at the nursing home today to see if I could get scheduled for some shifts when I will be home over spring break. This, in a way, is funny, because I always say that I hate coming home and just working on my breaks. Yet distance makes the heart grow fonder, and I forget how much I don’t actually enjoy working until I fall over and only seem to remember how much I love my old people. Anyway, what I am trying to say is that I just feel a little gloomy. I think I will blame it on the cloudy weather. Sunshine just seriously makes me look cuter. My eye shadow sparkles in the sun. My hair looks magically less frizzy. And I walk a little bouncier. Cloudy weather does not look good on me. Despite that, I feel like I will share with you some things that I make me happy (some are probably a little quirky, so deal with it).

The reason that I think it is important to think about the things that make me happy is because sometimes I forget. Sometimes  I let that really annoying guy in my classes just annoy me to the point where I can no longer focus about what the professor is saying because I am too busy deciding if I have good enough aim to hit him in the head with my pen. Sometimes I let Mr. Paisley-shirt man annoy me when he shares stories about his experiences when really, I just want to learn what my professor (who I secretly wish could be my grandpa) has to say. Sometimes I let the fact that my bag up and decides to break get me down, when I know very well that it is not the end of the world and my bag still works just fine. Sometimes I just let these clouds get to me. Stupid clouds. Anyway.

I really like holding the door for people, and vice versa. If I am with a guy, I will just assume that he is going to open the door for me. Which, as it turns out, is not always the case. I do, though, really enjoy holding the door for people. It just makes me happy. As I was walking into work today, some man held the door for me, even though I was still at least ten feet from the entrance. He said, “You don’t need to hurry.” And I said thank you, twice. It isn’t just wearing a dress that makes me feel like a lady, but when people hold the door for me, I just smile, really big.

I really like giving blood. I know, that’s weird. I know, it is not normal to enjoy needles in an I-don’t-do-drugs way. Yet, whenever I give blood, it just makes me feel like a great citizen. And not really because I want everyone to look at me and say, “Wow! Look how great of person she is!” Because you know that as soon as I give away my blood, the person who receives it will never know my name, they will never meet me. The important thing is that when they need blood, there will be some that they can have, and maybe it will save their life.

I really like the smell of newspapers. I was in the library yesterday and I saw some newspapers, and luckily, no one was looking, because I picked one up and smelled it. You think that they make me high, but I don’t know what it is, I just love the smell of the ink on the paper. I remember taking a tour of a newspaper office, and my favorite room was the printing room. It smelled terrific. I also really love the smell of a shop, like a mechanic’s shop or a farm machinery shop. It just smells like home. Don’t worry, my home actually does not smell anything like that, but it reminds me of my childhood. I suppose for some context I should let you know that my father used to sell farm machinery. I know that doesn’t justify my weirdness, but I really don’t care what you think.

When the weather is nice, I love parking in the back of the parking lot. I know sometimes people complain about not getting a parking place near the front, so I don’t really want to take that from them. Even though, when it is winter, I still go for the closer spot. But in the summer or when the sun is shining and the weather is nice (you know, those days when you hear birds chirping), I like to park in the back and walk. It is not like it is that much farther to walk anyway, and that way I can enjoy the fresh air and Vitamin D.

Now, don’t get me wrong, there are many more things that make me happy. I just don’t know if you would care to keep reading all of them. You probably don’t care to hear about how great it is to buy a new pair of shoes or wear high heels. It probably doesn’t matter to you that my ideal date would just be reading a book together and drinking coffee/tea (and it doesn’t even have to be at Panera, although that would be awesome). You don’t need to waste your time listening to me go on and on about how much I love Sharpie Pens.

Anyway, I hope you find some time today to focus on what makes you happy. Moreover, I hope you find some time to enjoy the things that make you happy. Life is short, so we all better take some time to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

