Hope is an Anchor

I’m not actually sad. Well, that’s not true. But I’m not sad for the reasons you might think I am sad. I am not sad because of why you’d think because really, it was just gangrene that needed to be cut off anyway. I am, however, sad because I am reminded once again about how broken we all are. There was a friend of mine whose friend’s marriage is currently hanging in the balance, and it absolutely breaks me. It totally breaks me. And I didn’t even really know him that well/he was rude to be when I did meet him, but my heart still absolutely breaks for him and for the whole situation. And then I find out that someone who was in my brother’s class got smashed between two railroad ties and now both of his legs are broken and he is not in good condition. There is so much suffering, so much pain.

And it all sucks. (Now I don’t even like using the word “sucks,” but sometimes I feel like it is all I have to describe it.) And all these thoughts are sloshing around inside of my head, and I don’t know what to do with them. (And there needs to be something said about my lack of okay-ness because the song “Stronger” by Britney Spears has been my life-anthem as of late.)

But I still have all this hope.

Because I know that when you think you can’t, you must hold on. I know that when you start to doubt, you must have faith. I know that when you feel alone, that’s when you must reach out. I know that where there is love, there is always a reason to believe.

I have this hope.

This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us. -Hebrews 6:19-20

I have this hope because I have Jesus, and he absolutely changed my life. Even while life is so uncertain and shaky, I have this anchor that I know is strong and trustworthy. I mean, Jesus said it: “Take heart. I have overcome this world.”

Leave a Reply

