Relying on God

March seventh is one of my favorite days of the entire year. No, it isn’t my birthday. But for several consecutive years March seventh turned out to just be a really, exceptionally great day. However, I woke up this morning to a boring, ordinary, nothing-special-about-it, run-on-the-mill Monday morning. I let my snooze button wake me up every ten minutes for an entire hour before I actually woke up. I got dressed in a pretty skirt and brown boots, but didn’t feel that excited about it. I ate two Snicker doodle cookies for breakfast (yes, I know, health food). I made it all the way to work and realized, “There is not going to be anything special about this day. Who cares that it is March 7th? It is just another day.”

Then I am reminded: Stop. Don’t let this moment pass.

I was reading 2 Corinthians 1:9-10 yesterday. It reads: “Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us.” (Emphasis added.)

Yesterday was my Sabbath, and while I intended to actually accomplish some homework, I found that I really couldn’t. There was too much rest in the Lord that I really needed. God was calling me into his presence saying, “I know you have work to get done, but I want to teach you something.”

Life is going to suck sometimes, maybe most of the time. Bad things are going to happen (and I don’t really believe that those are part of God’s will for us), but it is through those bad things that we can learn that we cannot rely on ourselves. If everything was going swimmingly all the time, we really wouldn’t need to fully rely on God. If we had it all together every single second of every single day, we wouldn’t even really need God because our joy could come from our great circumstances and our beautiful put-together lives. But you and I both know that is not how it is in reality. In real life, we are constantly surrounded by brokenness and are broken ourselves. In real life, there will be times when we feel like we have received the sentence of death. But in those moments, we can relearn that we cannot rely on ourselves.

I don’t know about you, but that is such a hopeful message. I know that the situation might be depressing. There might be absolutely no light that is visible. There might just be emptiness and brokenness. However, Christ delivered us from so much already and he will deliver us again! We must set our hope on him because he continues to work through the most difficult of times. We must set our hope on him because he continues to work even though his marriage is falling apart. We must set our hope on him because even though my grandmother was vomiting blood, he is still working. I absolutely cannot depend on only me, and I know that I can’t completely depend on other people, but I do know that I can put the full weight of all my baggage at His feet. He is so able to take it all. We are able to rely fully on Him.

Sometimes I feel that there is nothing good that I bring to the table. But then I am reminded that it is not my table.

Leave a Reply

