Jet Lag

I am officially back from Europe, actually, I got back on Saturday. I am also officially overcome by jet lag. It has actually been quite ridiculous. I think I went to sleep at 4:30 PM yesterday. I woke up for a couple hours, even though I slightly remember my mom and brother attempting to wake me up several times, and finally ate dinner (also known as my “last meal” before I get my wisdom teeth out). Of course, jet lag means I have been awake since 3:00 AM for the second morning in a row. I am not mad about it. Though, I am not looking forward to getting my wisdom teeth out today. However, my teeth are already in extreme pain, so what’s more pain?

There are a lot of things that I still need to process since coming back from Europe. I drove home to North Dakota on Sunday, which means I have put 6,000 miles on my car in five months. (Though it is funny to realize that my body has gone farther than just 6,000 miles in less than two weeks.) I don’t know the exact miles since Google maps thinks it isn’t possible to calculate the driving distance from Olathe to Amsterdam. Go figure.

I like being back home, and will be sad when I am making the drive back to Kansas in what is currently six days. It does not feel like summer, though I try to keep telling myself it is. I can finally read fun books (and I have quite the list of books that I would like to read this summer), but it hasn’t fully hit me yet. But, I was quite excited when I found the book “Prayer” by Richard Foster at the Half Price Bookstore for less than four dollars. That just goes to show that I’m able as fun as a book club.

So, I am getting my wisdom teeth out in less than five hours. In less than five hours, I will be the same person, only with four less teeth. Crazy. I’m really just glad I never have to get my tonsils out again. Life is filled with a lot of pain (and I’m not just talking about physical pain). It is not easy to know what is next or to know what to do about what is next. Moving forward is not easy, but I don’t think we have much choice. We are not trees. Even if we were trees, we cannot choose to keep our leaves, because then we would never experience the joy of spring or summer.

Leave a Reply

