Chai

I have been showering with a spider in the same bathroom for the last four days because I am too afraid to kill it. So I just keep an eye on it the entire time I am showering. And that’s basically how my summer has been going so far.

I left home on Monday. Home is, of course, North Dakota. I made the ten-hour drive back to Kansas for the summer. I am really not a fan of that drive. I feel like I make it all too often. As much as I like listening to audiobooks, I don’t like being in a car by myself for a large chuck of an entire day. That, and Iowa smells like poop with a hint of bacon bits. So, I’m not a fan.

I have been mostly busy working. Even working on a Saturday. I’m happy that I get to stay busy. I haven’t even put a dent in my summer reading list, though. I need to work on that. I am a fan of iced coffee. It makes summer days happier. I need all the happy I can get because it seems that there is too much sadness. Death and heart attacks are not okay. I know it’s all part of life, but I am not okay with it. I want to put my foot down and say, “No more of this.” Too bad it doesn’t work like that.

I am craving some peach iced tea. Is it “iced” tea or just “ice” tea? I think it is true that your taste buds change every seven years. Seven years ago, I didn’t like tea. I didn’t like Chai. My life was sadder then. I found a recipe for Chai Gingerbread bars, and I’m looking forward to trying it out. It sounds delicious. Seven years ago I was only turning thirteen (I know, I’m a youngster) . Things sure look a lot different in seven years. I wonder what seven years from now will look like, but I hope it doesn’t come too fast. I want to enjoy being (almost) twenty.

This post was more optimistic than I have been lately. That’s good. But, truth be told, I have been putting off blogging because I haven’t wanted to think because thinking just makes me realize how much I’d rather be home and how much I miss my mom and also makes me write run-on sentences.

Leave a Reply

