Stretch Marks

If my blog were a basement ceiling, it would be covered in spider webs. I have had a couple adventures, but few moments to sit down and record anything. What can I say? Maybe I have been a good liver. As in, liver of life. Not internal organ.

I got back from camp yesterday. Mom and I went to Aberdeen to stock up on groceries today. I currently have dried cake batter on my shirt. Yes, there is a cake baking in the oven. Cream cheese pound cake. Go ahead and drool thinking about it. Anyway, I think the last week has been pretty successful.

I also should not admit this so openly on the internet, seeing as how I’m actually pretty ashamed of it and basically (fake) cried when admitting it to my family. But I have stretch marks. On my inner upper thighs. (Okay, only one thigh.) And I was pretty upset about it. It was a flashback to the time when I was only sixteen and looked in the mirror and realized that I already had wrinkles on my forehead. I am too young to be so old. Then, I realized something. So what? It is not the end of the world. So I’m getting older, but I’m also learning more and growing more (in life-knowledge, not fat (at least I hope not that way)). So, I’m going to be thankful for having my legs (stretch marks or not) and be thankful for the many blessings I do have and the many great opportunities I’ve already had this summer.

Yeah, I’ll get really annoyed and probably freak out once I find my first gray hair (luckily, that hasn’t happened quite yet). I’ll get annoyed with my family and my friends, but I’m grateful for every chance I get to spend time with them. I’ve found that people criticize you for just about every decision that you make in life, so I’m not letting the little things get me worked up and I’m (at least learning) to enjoy the ride.

That’s all for now. Time to get a cake out of the oven!

“Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery that it is. In the boredom and pain of it no less than in the excitement and gladness: touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace” -Frederick Buechner

Leave a Reply

