Bicycles

There are an insane amount of bicycles on campus. There is even a couple with matching bicycles. I’m hip enough to listen to Mumford and Sons (I guess that’s hip, right? I mean, I don’t have any dark-rimmed glasses (but my glasses are totally made from recycled materials, however, you wouldn’t know that by looking at them, so the only way you’d know is if I pointed it out (like I’m secretly doing right now) but who really feels the need for me to point out how totally into “social justice” I am with my helping-the-environment-and-starving-children eyewear?), so I guess my hipster scale would still be more on the I’m-from-North-Dakota-where-we-find-out-about-trends-six-months-after-they-are-even-cool side). All I’m saying is that there are a lot of bicycles and that will never be me. I’m maybe trendy enough to enjoy skinny jeans, but that’s about it. I’m alright with that. I’m also alright with the embracing-ness I’ve had with run-on sentences and parentheses overload.

The conversation about bicycles with my roommate kind of went like this:

Me: I could totally be trendy and ride a bicycle like that.

Her: No, you couldn’t.

Me: Why not? I could be the bicycle type.

Her: Do you even know how to ride a bike?

Me, shocked: Of course I know how to ride a bike!

Her: Well, you don’t know how to swim.

Me: PLEASE STOP REMINDING ME.

So, anyone want to teach me how to swim?

The real question is: why have I never thought about whether or not eyeballs smell? Yes, this post is really going to just show how weird I am. I would apologize, but I am not sorry about it. After all, sometimes life is short and you’ll never know if you are going to get killed by a flaming toilet seat falling from the sky, so you might as well eat dessert first.

I’m celebrating life because I’ve heard that Pumpkin Spice Lattes are officially back at Starbucks. I love autumn and the color of the leaves and wearing cardigans and boots and apple cider and Halloween and Thanksgiving and everything that is wrapped up in the fall season, but I especially love all things pumpkin-flavored. Pumpkin pie? Love it. Pumpkin bars? Gotta have ‘em. Pumpkin bread? Makes my belly happy. Pumpkin Spice Lattes? Cannot imagine how I survive the remaining months without them. I don’t look that good in orange, but I am so excited for autumn I can hardly contain my little ol’ self.

Most of all, the changing of the seasons reminds me to look around. Change is in the air whenever the weather changes. Change sometimes excites me, but mostly it scares me. But I will tell you one thing that doesn’t change: how the more I open my eyes, I see that grace is all around me. Grace often enters the places it was never invited, and that’s what grace is really all about. I’m so thankful that I’ve been shown grace, but that calls me to something deeper. I must show grace. I’m human, so I’ll fail at it and I’ll often fall down on the job. I don’t fully understand it, but I must show grace. I must live in grace. I must wake up thankful for grace.

Leave a Reply

