Chinese Food

I often find the times when I am so busy I don’t even have time to come up for oxygen are the exact same times I am drowning in God’s grace.

Why is it every time I am running late I hit every single red light possible? I’m not necessarily going to credit God for getting me to work on time because I feel like God is involved in things much greater than my clocking in a couple minutes late. However, I do believe I have become so busy I don’t take time to notice God’s grace touching even the most unexpected nooks and crannies of my life.

I have been really busy lately. College has merged into the interstate passing line, and I’ve still been wearing roller blades. I have felt less peace and more bricks weighing down on my rib cage. I have been trying to do a couple things to give myself “me time,” but even as early as I try to go to bed, it has only given me a false sense of peace. Once you experience the true peace that comes from being in the presence of God, nothing else satisfies you the same.

Like Chinese food, for example.

My suite-mates came back from Cheerleading practice last night with Chinese food. It looked and smelled like heaven in high-carb form. Suddenly I could think of nothing else but how much I wanted that Chinese food. It was bad. I was in the middle of working on Church History and started typing out the word “sin,” but I accidentally began typing out “Chine…” instead. I don’t know what overcame me. Call it Chinese food lust, if you will, but it took everything inside of me not to lunge across the coffee table and rip an egg roll out of my suite-mate’s mouth.

My Cheese-Its were no longer satisfying. My chocolate covered Chewy bar was like a toy car next to a BMW. Once I wanted that Chinese food, everything else was a sore substitute. I realized that is pretty similar to how I have been attempting to find peace. Painting my nails and watching some mind-numbing TV is a sore substitute for setting apart time to spend in the presence of God.

(Let’s overlook the fact that I basically compared God to Chinese food.)

God was calling me into His presence and I was doing just about everything I could do to keep my head above water. Everything, that is, except the very thing that would give me what I needed to truly swim. (Metaphorically, I can’t actually swim in real life.) I was going against the current without realizing and the entire time God was staying, “I will lead you beside still waters.”

We are called to live in the presence of God. We are to dwell each day in God’s love and grace. Romans 13:14 says, “Clothe yourself with the presence of the Lord Jesus Christ.” That’s where peace comes from. That is what I need to seek before I try to cross anything off my To-Do list. That’s why I need to wake up thankful. I would be able to enter the embrace of the creator of the universe, if only I could unclench my fists.

That same peace is available for you as well if you enter into the presence of God today. Right now. Right where you are. Don’t wait for the peace that surpasses all understanding.

Leave a Reply

