Hearing

I could hear the words that were coming out of my mouth, but I had no idea where the words came from. It wasn’t a thought I’d thought before.

“Maybe God doesn’t want me to go; maybe God just wants me to be willing to go.”

My youth pastor that I intern under called me last night and asked me a couple of questions. We have been going through a series that explores hearing from God. When asking the teens, not many of them had much to say about hearing from God. So, he asked, “Have you ever heard from God?” They were silent.

He was asking what my experience hearing from God has been like. Honestly, when I look back on my experiences, I don’t think I really learned what God’s voice sounded like for a couple years after I became a Christian. Granted, I’m still learning and God’s voice doesn’t always sound the same. I think I struggled the most in hearing God’s voice because it was so unfamiliar, almost like receiving a phone call but not recognizing the voice on the other end of the line.

There have been times when I know without a doubt that it is something God is calling me to do. However, that’s not always the case.

It is like Elijah in 1 Kings 19. There are shattering rocks and storms, but sometimes God is just speaking in the whispers. God speaks in the quiet moments of our lives.

It feels premature to think about my summer plans already, especially when I didn’t finalize any of my summer plans for this past summer until the very end of spring semester. But I’m learning that I can’t rule out the option that maybe God isn’t calling me to what I think he is calling me, and maybe God is just calling me to a place where I would be absolutely willing to lay down my plans and be willing to follow Him completely. And that’s going to mean really learning to pay attention to what is His voice and what is not His voice.

Leave a Reply

