Worth

When we sing the song “O Holy Night,” we may sing through the words without realizing much of what we are saying. I feel like it goes that same for every song we sing, whether we are in church or not, whether they are Christmas songs or not. But there is a line in the song that I do not want to miss.

The soul felt its worth.

My Pastor talked about this line on Sunday. He was talking about what truth we are going to listen to and urged us to listen to the truth that Jesus tells us. Truths like, “Forgive that person,” “Love your enemy,” “Confess your sin.” Truths like, “You are a child of the King.” That’s when the soul feels its worth—we when listen to the truth that God speaks into our lives and not the truths the world speaks into our ears.

There are days when I feel pretty good about myself. There are days when I look in the mirror and think, “Man, I look good.” However, there are also plenty more days when I do not feel that great about myself. Those are the days when one of my teenagers in youth group makes a comment that cuts me straight to the heart.

I am rejoicing and hopeful because I know that with this Advent season, Jesus came, bringing truth about the world and about me. Jesus entered into our world, even our insecurities. Jesus took on flesh. I mean, Jesus was a baby, so he grew up. He went through puberty. He experienced the same struggles we do. He even experienced the struggles that we sometimes think are ridiculous and don’t want to admit that we struggle with. But, if I were being honest, I would have to admit, I still struggle with having a positive self-esteem. I know, people like confidence, but I am not always confident. However, I still know that even on my worst days, I can rejoice.

I can rejoice because my worth is not in worldly things. My worth is found in who God says I am. (“Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows”. -Luke 12:7)

I can rejoice because I have strength in Christ, even when I don’t personally have any more strength to make it through myself. (“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” -Philippians 4:13)

I can rejoice because I can have confidence in God because he is greater than anything this world can offer. “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” -1 John 4:4)

I can rejoice because I can have restoration through Him. (“I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten.” –Joel 2:25

I can rejoice because I can ask God for direction. (“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.” –James 1:5)

I can rejoice because I have the good news. I have the Spirit of the Lord. If that does not make you want to get up and dance, I’m not sure what will. (“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound.” -Isaiah 61:1)

There is truly a thrill of hope as this weary soul rejoices.

Leave a Reply

