The Beginning

We have made it to Thailand. Actually, we arrived two days ago, but I’ve been getting settled. We flew to Chiang Mai last night. We spent the first night in Bangkok, and we will be going back on January second. We got in late on Wednesday night. We took a taxi through the city to get to our hotel. It was an interesting start, driving through the red light district. It was the way to say “Welcome to Thailand.”

We are trying to learn how to say hello, but I don’t think that we will ever get to the point where the Thai people don’t smile and laugh politely as our sad attempt. My roommate and I are together one this trip, and she loves other cultures, so it is interesting to watch her interact with different cultures. She is kind of a riot to say the least. Our regional president is our leader, and he called her the entertainment. As of right now, we are only with the rest of the people who are here from the United States. The actual Third Wave conference doesn’t start until the third of January. I am more excited to get to interact with people representing the church throughout the entire globe.

I know I’ve been scared and fearful, but I am looking out at the beautiful Thailand country and thinking that this is just such an awesome opportunity. I miss home, but I am blessed to be here.

That’s my update for now. I am sure I will have more thoughts as the trip progresses.

Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

