New Year

Happy New Year’s Eve!

I am spent New Year’s Eve in Chiang Mai, Thailand. We set off lanterns into the sky, it was pretty awesome. They joined all the other lanterns as the floated off into the sky. I think the Thai people let them go for good karma. I don’t understand karma, but it was fun letting go of the lantern. That’s how we said goodbye to 2011.

And for reals y’all, I’m not all the sad to say goodbye to this year. This has been quite the year. I’ve had a lot of great experiences this year, but there has been way too many people I love go through a lot of painful situations this year. So with the lanterns, we let go of everything we want to hang onto from this year. We say goodbye and welcome in the new year and the new experiences that 2012 will bring.

We saw water buffalo today. My roommate jumped on the back of a water buffalo. For real! I only fed one, but it was still fun. We learned about how they do rice farming.

We went to a famous Buddhist temple. It was an interesting experience. I thought it would be a lot different than it was. It was packed with people. I don’t know how you can have any sort of reverence with all that going on. People were selling things all around. It made me feel like how Jesus must have felt when he saw people selling things in what should be a place of worship. It makes the materialism in our world so apparent. I do think it opens up an opportunity to bring hope to the world that we have a God who gives us salvation, without us having to earn or buy it.  

Leave a Reply

