Poetry

Guys, I know. I’ve been blog-failing at life. A certain annoying person keeps reminding me that I haven’t blogged in a while. I know, I know. I will return to you all soon. In the meantime, I’ve been watching a lot of spoken word poetry videos on YouTube. I have been loving it. Seriously. It makes me want to do spoken word poetry.

You know, you may not know this about me, but poetry is actually where my writing roots are found. I mean, save for my first-ever chapter book that I wrote in the 2nd grade and then another I wrote in the 3rd grade, but both of those were before I knew you had to start new paragraphs and it couldn’t be just one long paragraph, so those don’t really count.

I was in the sixth grade sitting in on my older brother’s parent-teacher conference. (Because when your father isn’t around, you get to accompany your mom to parent-teacher conferences.) It was with my brother’s seventh grade English teacher. He will forever be one of my favorite people. I don’t know how the conversation started, but it was probably started by my mother. She likes to brag about me—after all, how could you not? Ha. I kid, I kid. But seriously.

She mentioned to my brother’s teacher about how I wrote poems. He asked if he could see them. He sent me home with a large binder of his poetry, and then I found myself braving the junior high hallways (which were combined with the senior high because my school was small) to show my poems to him. He said I had potential. He said to never stop.

But you know how it is, life gets busy and you move on, you find yourself doing other things. I ran into him in the Post Office a couple years ago and he asked if I was still writing poetry. I told him that I wasn’t really. He was disappointed. So lately I’ve been scribbling on scraps of paper, and maybe someday it will feel put together enough to share with you. I’ve felt like returning to my roots.

In the meantime, here are some of my favorites that I’ve been listening to lately:

Leave a Reply

