First Day

I arrived in El Paso this afternoon and we hit the ground running with Youth in Mission training camp activities. I have met all my teammates, except one, who has yet to arrive. He will arrive tomorrow afternoon. Praise God for all the safe travels for those who have arrived, but we are still missing some team members from the other teams, most of which I’m told are arriving tonight. Prayers are always appreciated.

I cannot really express the nerves I felt while on the plane. I was stressing out, and my layover in Chicago gave me too much time to think. I was only moments away from breaking into tears right there in O’Hare, American Airlines, Gate H4. But I started reading Love Does by Bob Goff. I’m not finished with the book (and probably won’t finish it until my flight to London). He writes about his life and adventures. He has embraced so many opportunities in life because love does. Love invites you to live a greater story with your life. That’s what the mission of God is all about. I know that God is using the experiences I’ve had already just today and will continue to have throughout my experience with Youth in Mission to tell a greater story than I could ever tell on my own.

Bob Goff writes a chapter about a boy he meets who was preparing to propose to his girlfriend, and in this chapter he writes:

Watching Ryan lose himself in love reminded me that being<;'engaged isn't just an event that happens when a guy gets on one knee and puts a ring on his true love's finger, being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving. It's about going to extremes and expressing the bright hope that life offers us, a hope that makes us brave and expels darkness with light.

Leave a Reply

