Arrival

We have arrived in London!

We got here in the morning, but on central time, it was closer to midnight. We were met in the airport by the pastor and some of the people from the church. Everyone has been extremely friendly and welcoming. They asked us questions about ourselves and I kept hearing us being referred to as missionaries, which is odd to hear, but I guess it is true! We are missionaries!

Wednesdays and Thursdays are what we will have off as our “weekends.” On those days we will be able to explore the city and see some sites. Tonight we are going into Central London, which is about a twenty minute ride on the Tube from where we are (which is like their subway system that runs mostly underground around the city). We still have the rest of the day on our Tube pass so we might as well make good use of it!

I can’t really describe how I’m feeling. I’m excited to be here, but I’m also quite nervous. We don’t have access to wi-fi at the church, so I’m not able to connect as much as I’m used to. I guess in some ways, that could be a good thing. On the other hand, I wish I could call my mom if even for a minute without having to worry about being connected to wi-fi.

My team is all sleeping in the church: the girls upstairs and the guys downstairs. They installed a nice little shower for us. And we have beds! (Though I’m still going to need to find somewhere to purchase a pillow.)

I don’t know what is all in store for us this summer, but I’m learning to embrace adventures. There are so many learning opportunities God has allowed by giving me this chance to be here, so I want to keep my ears and eyes open as I learn more about London, this community, my team, myself, and God.

I pray you are having a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

