Welcome Back

Let’s just all agree to overlook the fact that I am twenty-one, sitting at my job in an office, eating a Lunchable in my cubicle. But let’s not overlook the fact that my Lunchable definitely had one slice of ham too many, which throws off the cheese-to-ham-to-cracker ratio. Which is just not okay.

Which I guess goes to show the depth of my thoughts on returning back to work. Classes started today, but since I don’t have class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, I don’t have my first class until tomorrow morning. However, yesterday was my first day back at my job on campus and today is my first day back in the office.

And, I must admit, it still feels weird to be back. It is almost like I am stuck in an in-between of my past and future self. Whenever I feel like this, I always think of that book, The Phantom Tollbooth. Except I always think it is about a phone booth and not a tollbooth because I guess I try to combine the first part of Phantom and the end of tollbooth. I’m not really sure.

Also, it is weird how I am a senior in college.Has not sunk in yet. I keep telling people I am excited about it, but I am not sure if I really am.

I am happy to be back. Really. I am. I like it when people say, “Welcome back!” and you can tell they are being genuine. It’s almost like the world is hugging you. Only I guess not that many people welcome me back who actually hug me because somehow for someone who has never really been a hugger, I feel as though my first instinct is to hug people I haven’t seen in a long time.

And I just consumed 160 calories of jelly beans, save for the two black ones that I threw away because, let’s be real: they are the gross ones. So there’s that.

Leave a comment