What I’m Into: March 2013

This is the first month I’ve linked up with HopefulLeigh for her monthly “What I’m Into” round-up.

Between tweeting things like this:

Image

March was a semi-busy month for me. I went home for Spring Break, but stayed in Kansas for Easter break. We had snow and more snow, but now I think spring is finally coming.

Below you’ll find a list of what I’ve really been diggin’ in March.*

Books

While driving back to Kansas, I listened to The Fault in Our Stars by John Green on audiobook. First, can I confess I don’t read nearly enough fiction? By nearly enough, I mean I don’t read fiction at all (with one small exception that I did actually read the Hunger Games series). This book was great, and I want to read more fiction. It is the kind of story that stays with you. It’s been a week, and I’m still thinking about it. It made me cry while driving—which I don’t particularly appreciate—but it was still fantastic. They are making it into a movie, and I’ve already given up any hope it will be as good as the book.

I received an advanced reader’s cope of Shauna Neiquist’s book, Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes, so I will be posting a review on that sometime this week. It includes recipes, a few of which I tried out while I was home for spring break. Overall, I love her writing and I enjoyed this book. Is it my new favorite book? No, but it was still great and I’d recommend it.

I also read the following for some of my classes: Speaking to Teenagers: How to Think About, Create, and Deliver Effective Messages by Duffy Robbin, Uncommon Youth Ministry: Your Onramp to Launching an Extraordinary Youth Ministry by Jim Burns, and A Resilient Life: You Can Move Ahead No Matter What by Gordon MacDonald. Since I’ve had to discuss them in classes and write papers on them, I don’t feel moved by them enough to continue to write about them.

Blogs

I have been sort of failing at keeping up with reading people’s blogs. Similar to how much I’ve been failing with keeping up with my own blog. But, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, so the early bird gets the worm, and here are some of my favorite blog reads from March.

“Wish We Were Neighbors” from Shauna Niequist. Reading her words is like receiving a hug.

“After Steubenville: 25 Things Our Sons need to know about Manhood” from Ann Voskamp. Yes, yes. A thousand times, yes.

Television

Because I clearly have my priorities straight, I caught up on television while I was home for spring break. Note to my professors I’m hoping don’t actually read this: that is why it’s the final day of Easter break and I still have homework to do tonight. Note to my mom: Don’t worry, I am still responsible and have never turned in an assignment late.

I’ve been watching: The Vampire Diaries, New Girl, The Mindy Project, and Psych. I have not been watching: any college basketball games.

Let me just tell you how awesome the 100th episode of Psych was. They played major homage to the movie Clue, which is on my list of top ten favorites. I’ve never actually listed my top ten favorite movies, but Clue would definitely be on it. Also Ferris Bueller’s Day Off would be number one, which probably says a lot about me, but I’m not mad about it. This episode was fantastic in so many ways.

I have also been watching the third season of Downton Abbey, but I’m only mid-season and it’s depressing me, so it’s a struggle to continue. It also doesn’t help having everyone say how awful the finale was, so I am not too motivated to finish it.

TED

You guys, I love TED Talks. Sometimes they are random, so usually I try to steer clear from ones that look like they are for people whose brains are wired toward science and math. I stick to the more creative ones.

Shane Koyczan’s talk “To This Day” was my favorite this month. It is his story of bullying and survival. I love spoken word poetry, so naturally I’m a fan. I was even more inspired by this because I know some of the teens of the youth group where I intern have been bullied (and I’m aware bullying is a huge issue, especially for teenagers), so I think this deserves a watch/listen.

Random Things I’ve Been Diggin’

Gingham-patterned shirts

White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter by Peanut Butter & Co.

Snap Judgment Podcast – This podcast is filled with stories that make me think, and I’m attempting to devour as many podcasts as I can. Also, I just love NPR. Go ahead: tell me I’m weird.

In my Amazon Cart

This is really code for the things I wish were on my nightstand or shelf. It’s the “what I wish I were reading next month” list. However, since I am poor college student (for six more weeks—after that, I’ll just be a poor college graduate), I don’t actually own these books. Yet. But I am trying to be a hopeful person. On a related note: I am now accepting all book donations, birthday gifts, or random “It’s Tuesday” gifts.

The Crowd, the Critic, and the Muse – Michael Gungor

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking – Susan Cain

Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers – Anne Lamott

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It) – Robert D. Lupton

Image

Check out who has linked up with HopefulLeigh for her monthly “What I’m Into” round-up.

*Do people still say the word “dig” to mean “like”? If I have to ask, it is safe to assume I’m uncool? One of my roommates (I have 5—I appreciate your prayers) and I had a conversation about what the word like actually means. We misuse it so often (“And then she was like,”), so she made a goal to eliminate it from her vocabulary. I submit to you one way to eliminate the word like is to start saying: “I dig this” instead of “I like this.” Let’s be real, I never made this goal, so I am going to continue using “like” in place of “say”.

4 thoughts on “What I’m Into: March 2013

  1. Fault in Our Stars is a great way to get you to read more fiction. You should try some of Green’s other books and see what you think. Paper Towns haunted me in the best of ways. Psych is such a fun show, isn’t it? Even though Downton Abbey had its depressing moments this season, there were also some great moments in there as well. I’d say finish out the 3rd season.

    Glad you decided to link up with What I’m Into!

Leave a Reply

