Top Five Things I Love about Target

Remember when I called myself a blogger, but then never actually blogged? Yeah, you are right. That was lame of me.

I am going to use the excuse I haven’t really had much to say. I’ve been working mostly, and tomorrow begins the two-week final countdown of my current job. What’s next, you ask? I am not sure, but I have already started work for seminary.

So, since I don’t have anything super serious to say, why not have a little fun? Thus I give you:

Top Five Things I Love about Target

1. I can buy Oreos and nail polish and clothes and Starbucks all in the same place.Target

Yeah, there’s convenience. But it’s more than that. It’s the if I am bored or sad, I can just go to Target and walk around. So much to do, so much to see, so what’s wrong with taking the back roads? (Cue Smash Mouth.)

Last semester, I would occasionally have some free time on Tuesday mornings, so I would hit up Target. It was relatively peaceful. It was therapeutic. Yeah, I can take deep breaths to calm down. Or, I can go to Target.

They have greeting cards, and it’s universally known one of my favorite pastimes is looking at greeting cards. And people watching. Guess where I can do both? Target.

2. Carts

I come from a long line of bad-shopping-cart-pickers. Or, at least, that’s what I thought when I spend a majority of my time using carts from Walmart. I’ve since come to realize it’s not me, it’s Walmart. Plus, every time I walk into Walmart, I feel like my soul is been sucked out. So there’s that.

Target has nice carts and wide aisles (for the most part). They are big and red. In fact, I think that’s another thing I like: I like all the red everything. And I like the little dots out front.

3. Cleanliness.

Target is pretty clean. I mean, I don’t want to take a bacterial swab and test it or anything, but it feels clean. And all I really need is the false sense of cleanliness.

4. Clearance.

1324144339877_6263775Okay, so it’s not like Target has the best clearance sections around, but it’s always like Christmas whenever I find a good deal. Now, when I find clothing on clearance in my size, it’s like my birthday and Christmas rolled into one. (Which wouldn’t mean much if my birthday was the same day as Christmas*, but my birthday is in June, so it’s a pretty big deal.) Also, apparently there’s this hidden secret about Target clearance, which I can never remember in the store and figure I can’t wait for something to be reduced further because then it will probably be gone, but here it is:

Clearance Secret: Target has five percentages which they mark things down: 15%, 30%, 50%, 75% and 90%. An item will remain at a certain price for two weeks before it is changed. Target’s full price ends in a 9. When it is reduced, the price drop will have the ending number of 8, 6 or a 4. Once the price ends in a 4, the price won’t go any lower.

Plus they let you double up on coupons.

5. Trendiness.

Target is pretty spot-on (pun intended) when it comes to trends. Target, I see you with your wannabe-Mason jar cup with colorful straw. That’s the thing about Target: I know logically I don’t need this jar/cup. So, maybe this isn’t something I should like about Target—the way it pulls me into a pit of consumerism. Yet, something about finding thank you notes in their dollar section makes me happy. It’s a slow fade, though, so I know I need to be careful. However, this is not a post about what I don’t like about Target**, so let’s just focus on the happy. Sometimes I think if I had to pick one clothing store for the rest of my life, it just might be Target. If you sell cardigans, you can probably bet I’m a fan.

*Let’s collectively feel bad for everyone whose birthday is on Christmas because everyone gives you a combo gift. #FirstWorldProbs

**Because then it would simply be a rant about how I don’t want a Target card SO GET OFF MY BACK ABOUT IT ALRIGHT CASHIER? Also, there’s this one cashier who my mom says is friendly, but she always asks me about my purchases and I just want to be like, YEAH, I AM BUYING OREOS AND ICE CREAM AND CLEARANCE PAJAMAS ON A FRIDAY NIGHT BUT I DON’T NEED YOUR JUDGMENT, ALRIGHT? So it’s really just best for all of us if I stick to writing about what I love about Target.

2 thoughts on “Top Five Things I Love about Target

  1. Ok, so I think we met in Bible Quizzing…but I also work at the GMC.
    1) My wife and I have spent anniversary dates at target
    2) Seminary is great! I’m glad you’re going and I hope you are formed as much as I was.
    3) Maybe I can “meet” you at work before you leave.

Leave a Reply

