What I’m Into: September 2013

Today I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer’s “What I’m Into” monthly link-up round-up.

Guys, September is over. I’m not mad about it. I like October, so I’m glad it’s fall. Falls don’t last long in North Dakota, so I need to enjoy the cooler temperatures before it snows. Hello, pumpkin-flavored everything.

I made my way around part of North Dakota this month. I made a trip to Fargo and Jamestown. If you follow me on Instagram, you would have seem a few North Dakota gems.

tumblr_msoar1FyRx1qa975ko1_500tumblr_mthwminXqG1qa975ko1_500What can I say? I feel a lot of North Dakota pride. Of course, I use the term “gem” loosely. Because, let’s be real: on the left is just a sign that says Fargo. On the right is a really large buffalo. Apparently these are things of which to be proud.

But. This month I got a doughnut pan. Which I was so extremely excited for–there are no words. I know, you might be thinking: baked doughnuts are not real doughnuts. To which I say, “Eh, you are probably right.” But that does not deter me. Baked doughnuts feel healthier. I feel everyone should have a doughnut pan. I’m still finding recipes, but doughnuts. That’s all the reason you need.

tumblr_mta9xsfuVx1qa975ko1_500Books:

I did a lot of reading for _240_360_Book.935.covermy classes, but not a lot of fun reading. I read and reviewed The Beauty of Broken: My Story, and Likely Yours Too by Elisa Morgan. I read Life After Art: What You Forgot About Life and Faith Since You Left the Art Room by Matt Appling Life-After-Artas part of my fun reading. Honestly, I expected a little more from this book. I don’t really recommend it. My last fun read of the month was Real Sex: The Naked Truth about Chastity by Lauren F. Winner, which I thought was really insightful. It was a helpful way to think theologically about sex.

In case you are interested in what I read for class, this month for my Christian Education class we’ve been focusing on Augustine, so I read Augustine’s “Confessions”: A Biography by Garry Wills and Augustine and the Catechumenate by William Harmless. For my Revelation class, I read Reading Revelation Responsibly: Uncivil Worship and Witness: Following the Lamb into the New Creation by Michael J. Gorman, The Theology of the Book of Revelation (New Testament Theology) by Richard Bauckham, and Revelation: Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary by Mitchell G. Reddish. Yes, I do read entire commentaries. No, I don’t really feel like that’s normal.

TV:

51+5y45IAQL._SX500_Oh, September and your TV premieres. How I wish I didn’t have so much homework and could just watch Parenthood on Netflix (I am slowly working through Season 3). However, there were some shows I watched this month. My brother and I watch Parks and Recreation together, so that’s probably what I was the most excited for. I also watched New Girl and The Mindy Project, but the season premieres were less than thrilling. I haven’t watched the second episode of the season of The Mindy Project. So I am not that excited for this season, but I’ll probably still watch. I just won’t watch as eagerly. My family watches Survivor and The Amazing Race, which neither I’ve ever watched or really cared about that much, but now that I am home, it’s good family bonding.

Articles:

In which you gather at the homemade altar” by Sarah Bessey

This is your river running to Zion, and it’s right in your own living room.

Why You Should Accept a Life Less Predictable” from Storyline Blog by Shauna Niequist

I’ve decided to learn my way into the future instead of planning my way there. In this season I want to live by the power of the wind and not the engine.

The Ministry of Funfetti”, and this:

Some of the most unrecognized ministries are my favorites.

Like, the ministry of playing yu-gi-oh cards with awkward adolescent boys. The ministry of bringing white styrofoam containers of Pad Thai to people whose baby is very very sick. The ministry of picking up empty chip wrappers at the park. The ministry of sending postcards. The ministry of sitting in silence with someone in the psych ward. The ministry of gardening flowers. The ministry of listening to teenagers talk about their relational crises, and not laughing hysterically. The ministry of making an excellent cup of coffee. The ministry of noticing beauty everywhere–in fabrics, in people, in art–and in the wilderness.

Random Things Worth Checking Out:

The Surprise Wedding. Yes, this video is a half hour long, but seriously, y’all. They get engaged and married on the same day. I am not sure I want that, but seriously it is awesome. Watch it here.

Also, I’ve been watching this video too much. Can we all talk like this? I know they are making fun of hashtags, but I love hashtags.

Check out what others are into here:

What I'm Into

Leave a Reply

