What I’m Into: March 2014

madewithOver(2)Today I am linking up with Leigh Kramer and her What I’m Into monthly link-up. March was a good month. I traveled a little, enjoyed a little vacation. I did a lot of homework, but that’s not as exciting. I am ready for spring. Unfortunately, just because it is April, does NOT mean we have having spring weather. I do live in North Dakota, after all. Anyway, here’s the Top 5 Things I Have to Say about March:

1. Las Vegas is probably not my scene, but it was a lot of fun. There’s just a lot happening. We went to a Cirque du Soleil show, which was so much fun. I went on vacation with my best friend and her family.

tumblr_n2p7fkvYfD1qa975ko1_5002. I am a terrible selfie-taker. I took no less than twenty pictures of myself to document that I have indeed been to the Grand Canyon. Each picture looks the same. Each picture predominately figures my arm. So, if anything, I documented that I have an arm more than I documented my presence at the Grand Canyon. Case in point:

tumblr_n2nbxtDpZZ1qa975ko1_5003. Earlier in March, I went to Louisville, Kentucky for the USA/Canada NYI Leadership Conference. Here is a picture of the group:

afterlight(1)4. I am afraid of heights. We went to a women’s basketball game at the KFC Yum! Center, but we got cheap seats (I feel like we should call them the “economical seats” instead). So, I sat through the game with sweaty palms because we were sitting so high up we were above the lights:

tumblr_n20nd4JhET1qa975ko1_5005. In March, I also went bowling with my friends. That may not seem like much to you, but I used to work at the bowling alley in my hometown. It is now under different ownership, so I was a little hesitant to venture back inside. That place contains a lot of memories from my high school years.

tumblr_n23pszGqto1qa975ko1_500Books:

The plus side to traveling this month is that while riding in an airplane and car, I managed to accomplish more reading.

880773In an effort to read more food memoirs, I read The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World’s Most Famous Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn. In the book, she documents her experiences while attending Le Cordon Bleu. Reading cooking books are kind of like watching the Food Network. In that I mean they are addicting. I don’t know what it is about reading or watching someone else cook that makes it so interesting! It also made me want to visit Paris again. When I was in Paris last time, it was only for t_240_360_Book.1160.coverwo days. Plus it was an interesting experience.

I read Moment Maker: You Can Live Your Life or It Will Live You by Carlos Enrique Whittaker and wrote a review for it on my blog. You can read my review here. I really enjoyed this book. I found it to be very similar to Love Does by Bob Goff. It was similar in that they both recount adventurous stories from the author’s life.

17716321I read Getting Naked Later: A Guide for the Fully Clothed by Kate Hurley after a friend of mine recommended it to me. This was a great read for singles (and let’s be real, married people could benefit from it as well). You can download it for FREE (or for a tip, because I know you are all generous people) from Noisetrade. She writes with honesty and does not try to give you the sugarcoated answers about singleness. You can tell she’s wrestled with things. She has been able to write with a perspective of hope, so I really appreciated this read.

After months of it sitting there on my Kindle app, I finally finished reading Sparkly Gree16184832n Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn by Melanie Shankle. It was a funny book, and I know a lot of people would probably recommend it. It was just so-so in my opinion. Maybe I could relate more if I had a child (since she tells a lot of stories about being a mother), but it was just eh.

7015403I read The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are by Brené Brown. I love Brené Brown. I mean, come on, this:

“We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection.

“Love is not something we give or get; it is something that we nurture and grow, a connection that can only be cultivated between two people when it exists within each one of them – we can only love others as much as we love ourselves.

“Shame, blame, disrespect, betrayal, and the withholding of affection damage the roots from which love grows. Love can only survive these injuries if they are acknowledged, healed and rare.”

165815I meant to finish reading God Has a Dream: A Vision of Hope for Our Time by Desmond Tutu last month, but I did not get any fun reading done last month. I finished it this month. It was a short book, but it has a lot of nuggets of wisdom.

13544022I read A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans. It had been sitting on my shelf for quite some time after I bought it at Half Price Books. (I am a big fan of used book stores.) It was a really interesting read. It provides pretty good perspective on being a woman. It also helps to understand the importance of biblical interpretation.

TV & Movies:

I finished watching 30 Rock on Netflix, so now I don’t know what to do with my Netflix life.

Other television shows I’ve been attempting to keep up on have been: Jeopardy! (of course), New Girl, Parenthood, and Bones. Shows I keep meaning to watch but haven’t: Downton Abbey, The Vampire Diaries, and Psych.

I have loved Veronica Mars for a while. I think I’ve even seen all three seasons at least four (maybe five) times in their entirety. So, of course, I had to watch the Veronica Mars Movie. (Spoiler!) Don’t get me wrong, I like Logan and Veronica together, but I felt bad for Piz. Plus, Piz works for (or with, doesn’t matter) Ira Glass! I mean, come on! I’ll date Piz. My mom watched this movie with my and she was all like, “Why would anyone like Logan?” So I told her we would have to watch the whole series. We have yet to do so, but it’s coming.

I watched Frozen, so now I finally know what everyone is talking about. It’s probably not my favorite Disney movie ever, but I really enjoyed it. Do you want to build a snowman?

Music:

I know I am the rare person that does not listen to a lot of music (because, hi, I listen to NPR, so basically I just listen to people talking or soft jazz), but I have been listening to Mike Main and the Branches on repeat:

On the Blog:

I have been posting links for some articles I’ve been reading this Lenten season. I have been sharing links each Tuesday. I also wrote a post titled “A Pair of Glitter Toms,” but it was always about more than the shoes. You can check out the posts by clicking the following links:

photo(1)        madewithOver(1)

You can check out what other people are into this month:

What

5 thoughts on “What I’m Into: March 2014

  1. Love you pic of you at the Grand Canyon – its cute! You read great books this month. I couldn’t get into ‘Sparking Green Earrings’ either, but I also don’t have children. I bought her new book on marriage (as I’ve been married a few years) – hoping to enjoy that one more when I get around to reading it. 🙂 Excited to check out your Lenten links series – thanks!

    1. Hello! Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy her book on marriage (I’m not married, so I probably wouldn’t relate to it that much either). I do appreciate that she is able to find humor in her experiences. I hope you have a great day!

  2. The Grand Canyon is one of my favorite places. I have got to get back there soon. I read and enjoyed The Sharper the Knife years ago but haven’t gotten around to reading Flinn’s follow up yet. I am hardcore Team Logan. While I felt a little bad for Piz, even he knew it was inevitable.

  3. Hello Andra! I’m a new follower and am a newbie lifestyle blogger! I really enjoy the presentation of this post! It’s such a fun read! Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to read more. Keep up the great work! PS-the Grand Canyon picture is lovely, it’s always a place I’ve wanted to visit!

    1. Hi! Thank you for stopping by and checking out my blog. And thank you for following!

      I loved being at the Grand Canyon. If you get the chance, definitely go. It is so beautiful there–pictures don’t really do it justice.

      I love linking with what Leigh Kramer’s What I’m Into posts. It helps me reflect and progress what I’ve done, read, and learned each month.

Leave a Reply

