Book Review: Tables in the Wilderness by Preston Yancey

_240_360_Book.1319.cover“What is the silence of God? It is preparatory and expectant,” writes Preston Yancey in his book, Tables in the Wilderness. The title is a reference to Psalm 78 in which the question is posed: “Can God really spread a table in the wilderness?

Yancey writes about his journey and the struggle to reconnect with God. He writes about hearing from God and then not. His entire journey circles to hearing God again. In the end, hearing God is different than in the beginning. At the beginning, he feels he has his life figured out. Ultimately, this is a hopeful book. Yancey writes with a raw honesty that you come to appreciate.

I was hooked from the beginning, but I will admit this probably is not a book for everyone. I was drawn in because I have also experienced times of silence. This is a spiritual memoir, which is more about the questions than arriving at all the answers.

Sometimes his writing is hard to follow because it jumps around. If anything, this further illustrates that life is not ordered, is not linear, and does not always makes sense. There are times when his story doesn’t feel connected. His language and words are at times hard to connect to; he likes to write in a poetic way more than a practical way. There are points of connections; at times his story is relatable. When reading his story, I made connections to my own life–my experiences, how churches and college impacted my life. How I’ve heard from God, and then not.

A memoir written in your twenties will read different than a memoir written much later in life. Sometimes you are too close to an experience to be able to process it properly. There are times when the narrative has that feel–it is written, and now published, but there is still more processing that needs to take place.

I think this book is worth reading because there will be times God speaks and times when God is silent. It is worth reading because life does circle, and I think we find our stories are connected. If you enjoy dwelling in the mystery and tension, I recommend this book.

Tables in the Wilderness releases on September 30, 2014 (that’s today!). You can buy it on Amazon here.

Watch the book trailer here:

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One thought on “Book Review: Tables in the Wilderness by Preston Yancey

Leave a Reply

