Book Review: The Kitchn Cookbook by Sara Kate Gillingham and Faith Durand

9780770434434Perhaps you have asked yourself this question: What is the point of buying cookbooks when I can look recipes up on the internet? If you have been on a cookbook buying haitus, you need to pick up The Kitchn Cookbook: Recipes, Kitchens & Tips to Inspire Your Cooking by Sara Kate Gillingham and Faith Durand.

I have been reading posts and recipes on thekitchn.com for a while. It is one of my go-to places when I want to find a recipe for hummus or if I have a question like, should I rinse quinoa before I cook it? The Kitchn was founded in 2005 by Maxwell Ryan and Sara Kate Gillingham, who are the founders of The Kitchn’s parent site, Apartment Therapy.

This cookbook includes more than just recipes. It also includes essential cooking lessons, ways to organize your kitchen, storage tips, and maintenance suggestions. Instead of being called a cookbook, it should really be called an all-purposebook. “Part One: The Kitchen” includes a chapter on setting up your kitchen, a chapter on tools, and a chapter on caring for your kitchen. “Part Two: How to Cook Well” includes the following chapters: “Stocking the Pantry and Planning Meals,” “The Kitchn’s Cooking School,” and “The Recipes.” The final chapter is titled “Gathering,” where they write:

“When we [gather] in good company, be they family, friends, or strangers, we are participating in one of the oldest human activities: the shared meal.”

My favorite part? The photographs. I could look at photos of kitchens on Pinterest all day, and the photographs in this book are beautiful. My second favorite part? The writing. They explain:

“We write stories at The Kitchn in the hope that you will see a workable approach to gathering in style, with grace and with ease.”

Do not be afraid this book is just helpful tips with a few recipes peppered here and there. It contains over one hundred pages of recipes. Want to find a great recipe for breakfast tacos or granola? Get this book. The recipes are relatively simple. I appreciate this because I own too many cookbooks where I would only actually make a handful of recipes. I enjoy cooking and finding new recipes, so sometimes I read cookbooks as if they are bedtime stories. “There is no question that the kitchen is the most important room of the home,” they write. This book helps you discover an even deeper love for your kitchen and for food.

This book is especially helpful if you are just starting to fill your kitchen. Looking for a housewarming gift? This is the book.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

