Book Review: One Pot by the Editors of Martha Stewart Living

9780307954411One Pot: 120+ Easy Meals from Your Skillet, Slow Cooker, Stockpot, and More by the Editors of Martha Stewart Living is a cookbook everyone should have in his or her kitchen. The summary reads: “Using just one pan, you can stew, steam, sauté, simmer, braise, or roast your way to a fuss-free meal—and minimal cleanup to boot.” As someone who attends potlucks once a month, this cookbook is an incredibly useful tool to keep on your bookshelf. The chapters are specifically devoted to the different cooking vessels: stockpot, skillet, slow cooker, and more. It is great to have recipes that do not result in a huge pile of dishes. If you can make something in one pot? I’m sold. One pot = less dishes.

I am a firm believer that everyone should know how to make a few key signature dishes. Those dishes do not need to be incredibly difficult. This cookbook includes 120+ recipes, so there is bound to be a recipe you’ll embrace as a staple.

I judge the quality of a cookbook on whether or not I would cook any of the recipes. I would make probably about 75% of the recipes in this cookbook. That’s a pretty great percentage. For example, odds are I am not going to use a classic chicken soup recipe (because I am really skilled at using a can opener), but I would make Baked Risotto and Beef Stew with Noodles. I appreciated the pulled pork recipe, but I could have done without a macaroni and cheese recipe (and this comes from someone who has one Pinterest board dedicated to macaroni and cheese recipes).

Another recipe I was not too crazy about was the Corned Beef and Cabbage, but that’s more of a personal preference (and personal disdain for corned beef) than it is a reflection of the recipes. In every cookbook, you will find some recipes you will not utilize. Overall, this cookbook contains a wide selection of solid easy-to-make recipes. There are photos of each recipe, which is also helpful.

I would recommend this cookbook for those who are just starting their cookbook collections, for those who are beginning to learn to cook, or for those who are looking to make relatively easy meals in one pot.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

