Book Review: Savor By Shauna Niequist

_240_360_Book.1548.coverSavor: Living Abundantly Where You Are, As You Are by Shauna Niequist is a breath of fresh air. Niequist’s writing is conversational in tone. The devotions feel as if you are chatting with a friend over coffee, which makes this devotional perfectly paired with your morning coffee.

If you have read any of Shauna Niequist’s other books, Bread and Wine, Cold Tangerines, or Bittersweet, then a lot of the material will be familiar. By setting it up as a devotional, there is enough new information to make it worth the purchase. This devotional book is different than her previous books of essays, but her heartfelt words are still there. Each devotion is a short, easy read that helps start your day on an encouraging note. The devotions end with a few reflection questions.

She writes about brokenness as well as everyday life. From food to love and faith, she weaves celebration alongside heartache. She writes:

“I have been surprised to find that I am given more life, more hope, more moments of buoyancy and redemption, the more I give up. The more I let go, do without, reduce, the more I feel rich. The more I let people be who they are, instead of cramming them into what I need from them, the more surprised I am by their beauty.”

She writes about friendship and sharing meals:

“Everyone would rather have a simpler meal and a happier host. The warmth and love you show your guests is the key ingredient in any gathering.”

It includes several recipes including Pumpkin Banana Anything Muffins and Curried Cauliflower. There is even a recipe for “Jennifer’s Catbirds/Carnitas,” but do not be scared, as she explains:

“I asked [Jennifer] for her recipe after a Cinco de Mayo party where her carnitas stole the show. We’d just had a conversation about the evils of auto-correct, and then she sent me her carnitas recipes, which auto-corrected to Catbirds. The name stuck.”

I will admit I do not quite love this book like I do her other books, but this is a good devotional. While I do not utilize devotionals as much as other people, it contains plenty of lighthearted and encouraging nuggets. Do not just buy it to post a pretty picture on Instagram, but do buy it, dwell with it, and let the words nourish you.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

