Bible Review: The NIV Zondervan Study Bible

_240_360_Book.1662.coverAs a pastor, I am always looking for a solid study Bible to recommend whenever anyone asks. Boasting that it is “built on the truth of Scripture and centered on the gospel message,” the NIV Zondervan Study Bible is worth a recommendation. The New International Version is one of the most widely-used translations (and the translation I tend to use while preaching), so this makes for a helpful resource when studying the Bible.

It is well-designed–colorful and full of great illustrations. The overall format and layout is incredibly well done. It makes it easy to use and read. Another bonus is that with a purchase of the hardcover edition, you will receive electronic access to the NIV Zondervan Study Bible as well.

The NIV Zondervan Study Bible includes maps, concordances, charts, timelines, and IMG_5847illustrations to enhance one’s study. It has helpful introductions and outlines of each book of the Bible. It contains study notes which allow for readers to gain a better understanding of the context of the text. There is room to take a few notes on the margins. Just the fact that it includes more than ninety colorful maps is enough to make me recommend this Study Bible. Anything that helps you gain a better understanding of the overall context of a particular text and the overarching narrative of Scripture is worth it.

Of course, this Study Bible is not without its negatives. The Bible is just a little too heavy to carry around frequently, so it really works best if you leave it for home study. I cannot imagine lugging it around to Sunday School and church each week. It is 2,880 pages and weighs about 4.6 pounds. Unfortunately, it does contain small font simply because it contains such comprehensive information.

If you note that its general editor is Dr. D.A. Carson, research professor of New Testament at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School and founding member of the Gospel Coalition, you will not be surprised that it has a particular theological slant. This fits in with Evangelical Protestant theology. There are articles on “sin,” “creation,” and so many more articles written by scholars like Timothy Keller, Kevin DeYoung, and Douglas Moo.

If you are looking for a comprehensive Study Bible, this is definitely one to consider. You can buy it on Amazon here.

IMG_5845

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 thoughts on “Bible Review: The NIV Zondervan Study Bible

    1. Compared to the ESV Study Bible (which I use regularly), it offers some of the same information as far as maps and details like that. I think the ESV Study Bible and the NIV Zondervan Study Bible have different focuses, so that is reflected. Overall, I see myself using this whenever I am preparing sermons to gain some more information as I start my sermon writing process. However, I really love my ESV Study Bible and will continue to use that when I teach during youth group.

Leave a Reply

